My  experience as a Maintainer HacktoberFest - PR's

My experience as a Maintainer HacktoberFest - PR's

Hey Pal, this blog is about my personal experience as a maintainer for my own repository. I hope you find it interesting and that you can learn something new.

As developers, we all know what October is to us - The HacktoberFest. Most of the new coder, developers get to know and familiarize the wonderful GitHub and about its repositories. Hacktoberfest is like a catalyst, which helps to spread words about how open source can change the world๐Ÿ—บ๏ธ. The need to contribute, which have the power to change the world!! ๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜‚, should also be noted..

In this blog I'm sharing to you about my first experience as a Maintainer as well as about my first pull request of hacktoberfest 2022.

The story of my first experience as a Maintainer

Actually the idea of me being a Maintainer came, when I read about the swags๐Ÿ˜… offered to those worthy maintainers in the HacktoberFest website. I already had an idea of which repository to create. While trying to solve a question i needed an effectient sorting algorithm, and for that I had searched the entire google. Although I got one, but the search for algorithms was really time consuming. So I thought of creating a repository back then, but I didn't. When I read about the hacktoberfest maintainers this was the first thing that crossed my mind. A repository which consist of sorting and searching algorithms in multiple programming languages.

Searching and sortinng.png

(My Repository)[github.com/4N1Z/Sorting-Searching-Algorithms]

As this is a common topic, it had to be unique, so that it is not spam and at the same time helpful to others. A repository with all the sorting and searching algorithm in all the different programming languages, An all in one place for help, it can be used by other developers when in need. I searched the GitHub for such a repo, and to my surprise there was none which can be used by all. There was a repo in Chinese, and which I think can not be used globally, and that motivated me more to create this repository. At the time of HacktoberFest where everyone is looking for a place to contribute I thought this would be the correct time to release and also it would make a fine addition to the HacktoberFest repositories.

After creating the repo, I had some difficulties in maintaining since it was my first time as a Maintainer. So I invited my friend, and made him a collaborator as well. The first day of HacktoberFest we received 10-15 PR's it may be a small number, but for us it was quite an accomplishment. Learned many things regarding maintaining a repo.

My First contribution of Hacktoberfest 2022

As for my first contribution for hacktoberfest, it was to my own repo๐Ÿ˜…. Yaah.. I had created a code_of_conduct.md file for my repo as it is a much needed one, and it was accepted as a valid contribution. Although I had thought of contributing something else as my first contribution of hacktoberfest 2022, but fate had other things in store ....๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜….

Later then, I found out repositories which looked good and was around my knowledge of expertise.

Milestone reached

At Day - 15 of hacktoberfest 2022, we had closed 100 PR's and the repository got a total of 80 forks, which are big numbers for us๐Ÿ˜Š, as it is our first repository to go open source. And at Day - 18 the (repository)[github.com/4N1Z/Sorting-Searching-Algorithms] 100 forks. Feels amazing.๐Ÿ˜„We managed to give replies to the issues and PR's as early as possible. On a daily basis we received around 30 PR on an average.

PR.png

Screenshot (5).png

A big shoutout to all the maintainers out there, as maintaining a repository is not so easy as it looks. Sometimes it's quite hectic and at the same time interesting. To be able to understand about the varieties of the same code and different methods to solve, it's quite somethings else.. ๐Ÿคญ

This is it.. I tried to keep it short, so that you guy's aren't bored. Thank you for spending your valuable time in me and reached till the end.

Later if your interested, then checkout my others blogs and to know more about me visit my profile

ย